2017 Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation for DESY researchers

Innovation Award 2017

The Innovation Award of the Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin was given to a team from DESY during the award ceremony (from left): Atoosa Meseck (HZB) gave the laudatory speech, the awardees are Mikhail Yurkov, Markus Tischer, Bart Faatz, Evgeny Schneidmiller, Siegfried Schreiber here with Matthias Richter (PTB Berlin, TU Berlin) from the Society of Friends of HZB. (Credit: HZB)

The Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) bestowed the 2017 Innovation Award upon a team of physicists from DESY: Bart Faatz, Evgeny Schneidmiller, Siegfried Schreiber,  Markus Tischer and Mikhail Yurkov have been awarded for their work on „Innovative applications of gap-tunable undulators with integrated phase shifters in SASE X-ray FELs“ for FLASH2.

The Innovation Award is to be granted for an excellent achievement which has contributed signifcantly to the further development of techniques, methods or uses of synchrotron radiation. Scientists and engineers from research institutions, universities, and industrial establishments within Europe are addressed. The Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation icludes a monetary prize of 3000 Euro.

(from HZB webpage)