DESY Photon Science User Committee

As a direct link between the users and the DESY Photon Science management the DESY Photon Science User Committee 'DPS-UC' (former HUC) will assist the communication and the exchange of information. The User committee will take note of the needs and concerns of individual users and/or groups regarding daily affairs of on-site work during beamtimes, operating procedures, general user support and other related matters. This information is regarded as confidential unless otherwise agreed.

The committee will suggest appropriate measures to the management. DESY Photon Science will keep the DPS-UC informed on operation schedules, plans for instrument and/or beamline upgrades, future perspectives or changes as well as research activities related to photon science at DESY. The DPS-UC will give recommendations for the scientific programme of the DESY Photon Science users’ meetings.

The user committee consists of at least 5 external members. New members will be nominated and elected by the users for a term of 3 years. The elected committee members will be presented during the DESY Photon Science users' meeting (in 2023, 2026 etc.). The first members were elected in 2005. A re-election is possible.

Please contact the chair or any other member of the user committee directly if you have any questions or suggestions.