Centres for research

DESY site

The DESY site in Hamburg with the CFEL and new CSSB building and the construction site for the CXNS building on the right side of the curved PETRA III experimental hall ‘Max von Laue’ in May 2018 (Copyright: © DESY / Reimo Schaaf)

Research activities at DESY Photon Science are also carried out at several centres on-site, together with its partner institutions. All these centres continue to develop dynamically:

  • CFEL - Center for Free-Electron Laser Science  
  • CSSB - Centre for Structural Systems Biology

Further new centres in collaboration with partner institutions of DESY are currently being planned:

  • CXNS - Centre for X-ray and Nano Science (building under construction)
  • CMWS - Centre for Molecular Water Science​​​
  • CDCS - Centre for Data and Computing Science

or already represent and bundle activities 

  • WPC - Wolfgang Pauli Centre for Theoretical Physics

for instance within PIER (Partnership for Innovation, Education and Research of the Universität Hamburg and DESY).

Additional centres are located on the campus: CHyN (Center for Hybrid Nanostructures / Universität  Hamburg) as well as the almost completed new centres Harbor (Hamburg Advanved Research Centre for Bioorganic Chemistry / Universität  Hamburg) and MPSD (Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter / Max Planck Society). Both buildings shall be finalised in 2020.

Moreover, the future vision is to build a science district around DESY and the Universität Hamburg in Hamburg Bahrenfeld until 2040 and beyond. In this planned new Science City Bahrenfeld, science, innovation, business and housing are to be closely interlinked in the development of the urban area, which includes new scientific institutes and facilities.