Program 2019 (Photon Science - SR)

Location

The first to weeks are dedicated to common lectures for all summer students. These will all take place in the DESY Main Auditorium. After these common lectures the students allocated to photon science will have their own series of special lectures.
 

The photon science lectures will take place in:
Room 456 in Building 25f.

 

Please note that there are three additional common lectures for all students in week 4 (Dark Matter and ALPS II) and week 5 (Astroparticle Physics). These lectures are again in the
DESY Main Auditorium.

 

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 1 'Common Lectures'

Time Mon., July 15 Tue, July 16 Wed., July 17 Thu., July 18 Fri., July 19
9:30 - 10:15

 

    Introduction to HEP part 3
Achim Geiser
Main Auditorium

Introduction to HEP part 4
Achim Geiser
Main Auditorium

10:30 - 11:15

 

10:15
Welcome
Olaf Behnke
Main Auditorium

Introduction to HEP part 1
Achim Geiser
Main Auditorium
Introduction to Photon Science  part 1
Rainer Gehrke
Main Auditorium

Introduction to Photon Science  part 3
Rainer Gehrke
Main Auditorium

11:30 - 12:15     Introduction to HEP part 2
Achim Geiser
Main Auditorium
Introduction to Photon Science  part 2
Rainer Gehrke
Main Auditorium
Introduction to Photon Science  part 4
Rainer Gehrke
Main Auditorium
14:00 - 14:30  

Introduction to Library
Kirsten Sachs
Main Auditorium

   

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 2 'Common Lectures'

Time Mon., July 22 Tue, July 23 Wed., July 24 Thu., July 25 Fri., July 26
10:30 - 11:15

Accelerator Physics
part 1
Pedro Castro
Main Auditorium

Director's Welcome
Wim Leemans

Main Auditorium


 
   

10:45 - 11:30
Accelerator Physics
part 3
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

11:30 - 12:15

Accelerator Physics
part 2
Pedro Castro
Main Auditorium

11:45 - 12:30
Accelerator Physics
part 4
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

     

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 3 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., July 29 Tue, July 30 Wed., July 31 Thu., Aug. 1 Fri., Aug. 2
9:00 - 10:30  

Synchrotron Radiation -
Production and Properties

Rainer Gehrke

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Detectors
Heinz Graafsma

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 
11:00 - 12:30

 

Lasers and Optics
Uemit Demirbas
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Lasers and Optics
Uemit Demirbas
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 4 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 5 Tue, Aug. 6 Wed., Aug. 7 Thu., Aug. 8 Fri., Aug. 9
9:00 - 10:30

 

Fundamentals of X-Ray Interaction with Matter
Sang-Kil Son

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

11:30 - 12:15
Dark Matter
Part 1

Axel Lindner

Main Auditorium

Fundamentals of X-Ray Interaction with Matter
Sang-Kil Son
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

10:30 - 11:15
Dark Matter
Part 2

Axel Lindner

Main Auditorium

11:00 - 12:30  

Processes at High Radiation Intensity
Robin Santra

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

Processes at High Radiation Intensity
Robin Santra

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

11:30 - 12:15
ALPS II
Axel Lindner
Main Auditorium

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 5 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 12 Tue, Aug. 13 Wed., Aug. 14 Thu., Aug. 15 Fri., Aug. 16
9:00 - 10:30

 

   

Molecular Science
Jochen Küpper
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

10:30 - 12:15
Astroparticle Physics
Gernot Meyer
Main Auditorium

11:00 - 12:30

 

Characterization of Light
Sven Toleikis
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Characterization of Light
Sven Toleikis
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

14:00 - 15:30  

14:00 - 15:30 !!!

Molecular Science
Jochen Küpper
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

     

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 6 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 19 Tue, Aug. 20 Wed., Aug. 21 Thu., Aug. 22 Fri., Aug. 23
9:00 - 10:30

 

Development of Experimental Techniques
Christian Schroer

Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Development of Experimental Techniques
Christian Schroer
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 
11:00 - 12:30

 

Solid State Physics and Nanoscience (1)
Ralf Röhlsberger
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Solid State Physics and Nanoscience (2)
Andreas Stierle
Bldg. 25f, Room 456