Program 2018 (Photon Science - SR)

Location

The first to weeks are dedicated to common lectures for all summer students. These will all take place in the DESY Main Auditorium. After these common lectures the students allocated to photon science will have their own series of special lectures.
 

The photon science lectures will take place in:
Room 456 in Building 25f.

Please note that there are two additional common lectures for all students in week 4 (Dark Matter) and week 5 (Astroparticle Physics). These lectures are again in the DESY Main Auditorium.
 

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 1 'Common Lectures'

Time Mon., July 16 Tue, July 17 Wed., July 18 Thu., July 19 Fri., July 20
9:30 - 10:15

 

   

Introduction to HEP
Achim Geiser

Main Auditorium

Introduction to HEP
Achim Geiser

Main Auditorium

10:30 - 11:15

 

10:15
Welcome

Doris Eckstein

Main Auditorium

Introduction to HEP
Achim Geiser

Main Auditorium

Introduction to
PhotonScience

Rainer Gehrke

Main Auditorium

Introduction to
PhotonScience

Rainer Gehrke

Main Auditorium

11:30 - 12:15    

Introduction to HEP
Achim Geiser

Main Auditorium

Introduction to
PhotonScience

Rainer Gehrke

Main Auditorium

Introduction to
PhotonScience

Rainer Gehrke

Main Auditorium

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 2 'Common Lectures'

Time Mon., July 23 Tue, July 24 Wed., July 25 Thu., July 26 Fri., July 27
10:15 - 10:30  

Directors Welcome

Helmut Dosch

Main Auditorium

     
10:30 - 11:15

Introduction to Accelerator Physics
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

Introduction to Accelerator Physics
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

     
11:30 - 12:15

Introduction to Accelerator Physics
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

Introduction to Accelerator Physics
Pedro Castro

Main Auditorium

     

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 3 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., July 30 Tue, July 31 Wed., Aug. 1 Thu., Aug. 2 Fri., Aug. 3
9:00 - 10:30

Synchrotron Radiation -
Production and Properties

Rainer Gehrke
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Synchrotron Radiation -
Production and Properties

Rainer Gehrke
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 
11:00 - 12:30

Lasers and Optics
Uemit Demirbas
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Lasers and Optics
Uemit Demirbas
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 4 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 6 Tue, Aug. 7 Wed., Aug. 8 Thu., Aug. 9 Fri., Aug. 10
9:00 - 10:30

Fundamentals of X-Ray Interaction with Matter (2)
Sang-Kil Son
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

10:30 - 12:30

Dark Matter

Axel Lindner

Main Auditorium

Fundamentals of X-Ray Interaction with Matter (2)
Sang-Kil Son
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 
11:00 - 12:30

Molecular Science
Jochen Küpper
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

Molecular Science
Jochen Küpper
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 5 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 13 Tue, Aug. 14 Wed., Aug. 15 Thu., Aug. 16 Fri., Aug. 17
9:00 - 10:30

Development of Experimental Techniques
Christian Schroer
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Development of Experimental Techniques
Christian Schroer
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

10:30 - 12:30

Astroparticle Physics

Gernot Maier

Main Auditorium

11:00 - 12:30

Processes at High Radiation Intensity
Robin Santra
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Processes at High Radiation Intensity
Robin Santra
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 

DESY Summer Student Lectures - Week 6 'Photon Science Lectures'

Time Mon., Aug. 20 Tue, Aug. 21 Wed., Aug. 22 Thu., Aug. 23 Fri., Aug. 24
9:00 - 10:30

Solid State Physics and Nanoscience (1)
Andreas Stierle
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Solid State Physics and Nanoscience (2)
Ralf Röhlsberger
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

 
11:00 - 12:30

Characterization of Light
Sven Toleikis
Bldg. 25f, Room 456

   

Characterization of Light
Sven Toleikis
Bldg. 25f, Room 456